political philosophy

Ohayo!

Sooo, Ive decided to take some courses from Yale’s open courses, as its obvious I don’t have the brains to get into an IVY LEAGUE UNIVERSITY. Political thought/philosophy has always been my favourite area in political science. So the first course I’ll be taking is INTRODUCTION TO POLITICAL PHILOSOPHY, so that I may get reacquainted with PLATO & ARISTOTLE and the others.
 

Lecture 1 – Introduction: What Is Political Philosophy?

Overview

Professor Smith discusses the nature and scope of “political philosophy.” The oldest of the social sciences, the study of political philosophy must begin with the works of Plato and Aristotle, and examine in depth the fundamental concepts and categories of the study of politics. The questions “which regimes are best?” and “what constitutes good citizenship?” are posed and discussed in the context of Plato’s Apology.

Resources

Plato, Apology, translated with an introduction by Benjamin Jowett
Courtesy of the University of Adelaide Library Electronic Texts Collection

http://etext.library.adelaide.edu.au/p/plato/p71ap/

My rooms theme is blue and brown, Im thinking of painting it orange, but I’m still contemplating. Decisions, Decisions, Decisions. As Im typing this Im listening to Morzart’s Symphony No. 41 ‘JUPITER’ I know Ive said this before, but I really really l like the orchestra! If I could travel back in time, I’d love to see Vienna in the 1800s.

Leave a Reply

