Walk Within You

Since my illness began, today is the worse. Im in so much pain and all I can think of is all my wrongs in life. I pray to God for forgiveness and I pray that everyone Ive wronged out there forgives me 🙂

I wanted to share this poem that I love so much❤️

Walk Within You…
Written by Nicholas Evans

If I be the first of us to die
Let grief not blacken long your sky
Be brief yet modest in your grieving
There is a change but not a leaving
For just as death is a part of life
The dead live on forever in the living
And all the gathered riches of our journey spent
The moments shared
The mysteries explored
The steady layering of intimacy stored
The things that made us laugh, or weep or sing
The joy of sunlit snow,
Or the new unfurling of the spring
The endless language of look and touch the knowing,
Each giving and each taking
These are not flowers that fade
Nor trees that fall and crumble
Nor are they stone
For even stone cannot the wind and rain withstand
And mighty mountain peaks in time reduce to sand.
What we were
We are
What we had
We have
A conjoined past imperishably present.
So when you walk the woods where we once walked together
And scan in vain the dappled bank beside you for my shadow
Or pause where we always did upon the hill to gaze across the land
And spotting something reach by habit for my hand
And finding none
Feel sorrow start to steal upon you
Be still.
Close your eyes.
Breathe.
I am not gone.
But merely walk within you

Leave a Reply

