James Madison & Democracy

Lately Ive been reading a lot on American Politics. It reminded be of this book I read earlier this week, HOW TO FIGHT PRESIDENTS: defending yourself against the badasses who ran this country. By Daniel O’Brien

 

BuDOO0eIYAACxuP.jpg-large

It reminded me of my political ideas class from last semester when we treated Madisonian Democracy. Basically Madison’s view on democracy was that –>

James Madison warned the American people that, “If a majority be united by a common interest, the rights of the minority will be insecure…whether of one, a few, or many, and whether heredity, self-appointed, or elective, may justly be pronounced the very definition of tyranny.”

Basically, he is saying that the American people need to be careful not to allow democracy to turn into tyranny. He was afraid that the majority would have their say, and the minority would be left behind, not having any of their votes counted. I suggest that you read “The Tyranny of the Majority” by Lani Guinier. There are a few quotes based on Madisons views on Democracy, and the quotes are explained very well, so it’s easy to understand.

I love what Im majoring in. I wish I could do a triple major though, In political science, history and literature, oh and perhaps arts too! My ideal house would have one of those massive libraries, just like the ones you see in movies, and I would have paintings all over my house! I FEED ON INTELLIGENCE! I just can’t seem to get enough. I have my baba to thank for that, from a young age he instilled in me the love for books and knowledge. Okay, back to studying/nerding and a bit of whatsapping.

Arivideci!

 

Leave a Reply

